Heart Shaped Burn

You lit a fire inside of me.

You began kindling it when we met,

and it grew stronger every moment I spent thinking of you.

Most people say they get butterflies, but me?

My stomach acid is gasoline and the moment we kissed,

you threw a match into it without a second thought.

Your hands burn my body, but I like the pain.

Your lips taste like ash and smoke and I swear, I’m addicted.

You keep me warm and light my way, but I’m scared;

because just as easily as you lit the fire,

you could put it out –

and all I’d be left with

is a

heart shaped burn.

Leave a Reply

