Love

Part of me is forever laughing with the girls in the street,

Big dreams in our minds and gravel under our feet.

Small town blues and water tower love

Will eternally haunt all the streets that we drove.

 

Late nights and early sunsets

Are the times I don’t ever want to forget –

All dressed up with nowhere to go,

Who’d have guessed we’d ever reach this low?

 

We meet outside the school, at half past three –

I smile at you, and you smile at me.

My life is nearly over, but yours is just beginning –

I thought I was losing, but now I can see that I’m winning.

 

And I love this life that we’re living,

And I love this lie that we’re telling;

I love this all so much –

I love you, don’t you know?

6 Replies to “Love”

    1. In that line, I’m pretty much talking to the people who have moved on and out of the place I live, where we’ve all lived our entire lives. My life here is nearly ending, meaning I will soon enough be off to live my life and see the world, and theirs is just beginning, meaning they’re starting new lives in new places with new people. And though I’ve always thought that those who could leave sooner have the advantage, I began, in that line, realizing that that may not be the case.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

